1Z0-312 Managing Customized Oracle Application Server Topologies

As promised, I’ll cover one topic per post for Oracle Certified Professional Certification track for Oracle Application Server 10g Administrator. Today’s post cover first topic which is Managing Customized Oracle Application Server Topologies.

New features for customized deployment topology
1. Install only IM type and use it with existing MR in different oracle_home or on different machine
2. Install only MR without registering with IM/OID
3. Rack mounted directory server configuration (Multiple IM/OID pointing to same MR)

Role of OPMN in customized topology
Role of OPMN is extended in OAS 10g
1. It start/stops all components of OAS
2. Scope of OPMN is extended, it can start specified instance or all instance in farm and OAS cluster
3. opmn.xml can be edited as per your need both manually or from iasConsole

Managing ports in customized topology
1. use static ports initialization file to customize port list , staticports.ini during installation (except database listener port)
2. use chgiphost.sh to change hostname or IP address
3. You can change port numbers later depending on your requirement

Various topology for Oracle Application Server
Each oracle application server deployment has unique characterstic and vary as per their requirements. Oracle Application server topologies are broadly classified into three categories
1. Development topology
2. Deployment Topology
3. Special topology for HA (High Availability)
4. Enterprise Data center topology

Each of these broad classification has further sub classification based on type of installation, usages…. explained below

1. Development topology used by
—1.1 Java developers (standalone OC4J or J2EE and webcache installation type). This is single computer install with no infrastructure tier install.
You have to install two components
a) J2EE and WebCache
b) Oracle JDeveloper

Key considerations — These two products should be installed in separate oracle_homes. Order of installation of these two products doesn’t matter

—1.2 Portal & wireless developers (Portal and Wireless installation type)
This type of installation needs two components of oracle application server, Infrastructure tier (IM+MR) and Middle Tier.
Key considerations — These two components of OAS, Infra tier and middle tier should be on separate oracle_home and can be on same machine or different machines.Order of install should be first Infrastructure tier and then middle tier. PDK (Portal Development kit) and Wireless SDK (Software development kit) shipped with Portal and wireless type install type is used for development.

—1.3 Forms & reports developers (BI and forms installation type)in this topology, developers use Forms & Report builder to build application and BI & Forms type installation to test their application (forms,report, BI)This will be installed in three oracle_homes (one for infra tier, second for middle tier of type forms & BI and third for Forms & Report developer)Order of installation is First infra tier, then middle tier and then forms & report developer.

—1.4 Integration architect and modelers topology (OAS install with ProcessConnect and infrastructure tier )This type of topology includes J2EE and webcache type installation with Infrastructure tier and third home for OracleAS ProcessConnect. Order of installation is first infra tier , then J2ee and webcache type middle tier installation using infra tier and finally ProcessConnect. This topology type will have two oracle_homes one for Infra tier and second for j2ee & webcache and processConnect (they will share same oracle_home)

2. deployment topology
—2.1 Hosting topology (in model where OAS is hosted environments)
—2.2 department topology (Where each depptt host their application)
—2.3 Data center topology (multiple deptt. share same data center)

3. Development life cycle (Dev to Test to Stage to Production)similarly application moves from developer topology to departmental topology to enterprise data center topology

4. special topology for HA

—4.1 Cold failover cluster (CFC)Here infrastructure is active only on one node at a time and can be activated on another node if existing Infra tier fails, similarly for middle tier.CFC is Supported with Sun Clusters, HP Service Guard and Veritas. Oracle_homes and OAS configuration files are placed on shared file system. It uses virtual hostname and virtual IPs

—4.2 Active failover cluster (AFC)Only difference between AFC and CFC is that in AFC, infrastructure is active at same time in all infra nodes. —3.3 IM replication (This uses database replication or LDAP replication technology )

Thumb rule as per oracle documentation
1. All development topology to be installed on single machine
2. All deployment topology need at least four machines

Share This Post with Your Friends over Social Media!

About the Author Atul Kumar

Oracle ACE, Author, Speaker and Founder of K21 Technologies & K21 Academy : Specialising in Design, Implement, and Trainings.

follow me on:

Leave a Comment: