Oracle Cloud Region

What Is Region, Availability Domain (AD), Fault Domain (FD) & Realm In Oracle Cloud Infrastructure (OCI)

Cloud Infrastructure (OCI) Servers & Data is hosted in a Region. Every Region can have up to 3 Availability Domain. When you create a Cloud Account a Home Region is by default allocated to you, wherein you can subscribe to another region as well.

On 30th November 2020, Oracle opened the Santiago cloud region in Chile. This is a part of Oracle’s global plans to operate 36 second-generation cloud regions by the end of 2020. There are a total of 22 Region now.

Do you want to know more about Region, Availability Domain (AD), Fault Domain (FD) in OCI? Read the blog post at

The blog post covers:
● New Region Added
● What Is Region
● How To Subscribe To New Region
● Availability Domain (AD) & Fault Domain (FD)
● How A Region, FD & AD Provides High Availability?
● How To Check The Availability Domain
● How To Check The Availability Domain
● Commercial vs Government Region
● List Of Regions Added

Begin your journey towards becoming an OCI Architect Associate and earn a lot more in 2020 by joining our FREE class at

Also, don’t forget to join our FREE Telegram group at, and be the first to receive OCI related news and updates.

About the Author Atul Kumar

Oracle ACE, Author, Speaker and Founder of K21 Technologies & K21 Academy : Specialising in Design, Implement, and Trainings.

follow me on:
Not found