Category Archives for Database

12c Database: perl adcfgclone.pl appsTier : RC-40201: Unable to connect to Database

12c Database: perl adcfgclone.pl appsTier : RC-40201: Unable to connect to Database CloneContext_***.log Shows the Message: Exception occurred: java.sql.SQLException: ORA-28040: No matching authentication protocol Environment: 12.1.3 Applications with 12c Database (12.1.0.2) Bug 14575666 In 12.1, the default value for the SQLNET.ALLOWED_LOGON_VERSION parameter has been updated to 11. This means that database clients using pre-11g JDBC […]

Read More

Next Five New Features in Oracle Database 12c for DBAs : Part II

 

 This post is series of Oracle Database 12c new features, check out our previous post on Five New Features in Oracle Database 12c for DBAs : Part I here The Oracle 12C means different things to different people. It all depends on which areas you are looking at, as there are improvements in many areas. Summarized […]

This entry is part 4 of 4 in the series Oracle Database 12c
Read More

Five New Features in Oracle Database 12c for DBAs : Part1

 

 This post is series of Oracle Database 12c new features, If you are new to PDB & CDB and challenges encountered in database consolidation then look at post here In this article, I shall be extensively exploring some of the very important new additions/enhancements introduced in Oracle Database 12c in the area of Database Administration, […]

This entry is part 3 of 4 in the series Oracle Database 12c
Read More

Oracle Database 12c : Multitenant Architecture : Container or Pluggable Database CDB/PDB

 

  With the launch of database 12c in 2013, Oracle introduced a new architectural concept called Multi-Tenancy, where you have a Container Database (CDB) and Pluggable Database (PDB). To explain I included video from Tom Kyte & Randy Urbano where Tom discuss about Pluggable Databases and challenges in Database Consolidation. Randy explains Architecture of PDB/CDB and […]

This entry is part 2 of 4 in the series Oracle Database 12c
Read More

Why Fresher Oracle DBA Doesn’t Get Interview Calls ? Interview Questions for Oracle DBA 12c

 

  Every day We get email/messages from college graduates asking about Oracle DBA role , on our discussion one thing that is common with most of the candidates is not getting enough interview calls even after submitting CVs.  We go through lot of CVs on daily basis for our internal team/clients and main reason behind why we think […]

This entry is part 1 of 4 in the series Oracle Database 12c
Read More

Password Expiry Issue

We were trying to start IDM services but services were failing with error as shown in below screen shot   1.     As it was showing issue with OPMN services so we tried to start opmn services manually but it was failing to start opmn services We looked into opmn log file log (located under $ORACLE_INSTANCE/diagnostics/logs/OPMN/opmn). […]

Read More

Adding Temp File in Temporary tablespace ORA-01652: unable to extend temp segment by 128 in tablespace

. I recently encountered issue ORA-01652 unable to extend temp segment by 128 in tablespace DEV_IAS_TEMP while upgrade of application which is self explanatory. If you hit above error then check v$sort_segment _______ SQL> SELECT TABLESPACE_NAME,TOTAL_BLOCKS,USED_BLOCKS,FREE_BLOCKS FROM V$SORT_SEGMENT;   Output in my case  TABLESPACE_NAME                 TOTAL_BLOCKS USED_BLOCKS FREE_BLOCKS ——————————- ———— ———– ———– TEMP                                    3584           0        3584 DEV_IAS_TEMP                          12672           […]

Read More

Focusthread offers Online Oracle Access Manager Training Weekend Batch starts on 02 Nov’13.

Get trained from the best instructor known  to have trained novices as experts in this field. Training Schedule: 02, 03, 09, 10 & 16 November 2013 Timings: 12:00 Noon GMT | 8:00AM EST | 5:00AM PST | 7:00AM CST | 6:00AM MST | 5:30PM IST | 1:00PM UK Course Fee: USD 799 For Course content: Click here For Testimonials: Click here For full curriculum and details, email us […]

Read More

Oracle Database Upgrade – from 11.2.0.3 to 12c –

  Last Week I performed Oracle Database Upgrade from 11.2.0.3 to 12c and would like to share Upgrade document. This upgrade document does not include prerequisite and post requisite, which I would try to compile and upload soon. Document Link is as under: Oracle Database 12c Upgrade with screenshots  

Read More

Oracle Weblogic : Tuning JDBC Data Source parameters

In this post , we will cover some of the parameters and factors which affect JDBC performance in Weblogic Server. But first I will like to show how jdbc connections are made (in Snaps below )and for that we need to understand two terms Data Sources and Connection Pool. Data sources: Are administered factory Objects […]

Read More
1 2 3 9