Category Archives for Database

Why Fresher Oracle DBA Doesn’t Get Interview Calls ? Interview Questions for Oracle DBA 12c

 

Every day We get email/messages from college graduates asking about Oracle DBA role , on our discussion one thing that is common with most of the candidates is not getting enough interview calls even after submitting CVs.  We go through lot of CVs on daily basis for our internal team/clients and main reason behind why we think Fresher […]

This entry is part 1 of 4 in the series Oracle Database 12c
Read More

Password Expiry Issue

We were trying to start IDM services but services were failing with error as shown in below screen shot   1.     As it was showing issue with OPMN services so we tried to start opmn services manually but it was failing to start opmn services We looked into opmn log file log (located under $ORACLE_INSTANCE/diagnostics/logs/OPMN/opmn). […]

Read More

Adding Temp File in Temporary tablespace ORA-01652: unable to extend temp segment by 128 in tablespace

. I recently encountered issue ORA-01652 unable to extend temp segment by 128 in tablespace DEV_IAS_TEMP while upgrade of application which is self explanatory. If you hit above error then check v$sort_segment _______ SQL> SELECT TABLESPACE_NAME,TOTAL_BLOCKS,USED_BLOCKS,FREE_BLOCKS FROM V$SORT_SEGMENT;   Output in my case  TABLESPACE_NAME                 TOTAL_BLOCKS USED_BLOCKS FREE_BLOCKS ——————————- ———— ———– ———– TEMP                                    3584           0        3584 DEV_IAS_TEMP                          12672           […]

Read More

Focusthread offers Online Oracle Access Manager Training Weekend Batch starts on 02 Nov’13.

Get trained from the best instructor known  to have trained novices as experts in this field. Training Schedule: 02, 03, 09, 10 & 16 November 2013 Timings: 12:00 Noon GMT | 8:00AM EST | 5:00AM PST | 7:00AM CST | 6:00AM MST | 5:30PM IST | 1:00PM UK Course Fee: USD 799 For Course content: Click here For Testimonials: Click here For full curriculum and details, email us […]

Read More

Oracle Database Upgrade – from 11.2.0.3 to 12c –

  Last Week I performed Oracle Database Upgrade from 11.2.0.3 to 12c and would like to share Upgrade document. This upgrade document does not include prerequisite and post requisite, which I would try to compile and upload soon. Document Link is as under: Oracle Database 12c Upgrade with screenshots  

Read More

Oracle Weblogic : Tuning JDBC Data Source parameters

In this post , we will cover some of the parameters and factors which affect JDBC performance in Weblogic Server. But first I will like to show how jdbc connections are made (in Snaps below )and for that we need to understand two terms Data Sources and Connection Pool. Data sources: Are administered factory Objects […]

Read More

Focusthread offers Weekend Online OBIEE Basic & Advance Administration Training starts on 31 Aug’13.

Get trained from the best instructor known  to have trained novices as experts in this field. Training Schedule: 31 August 2013 & 01, 07, 08, 14 September 2013 Training Duration : 5 Days   Timings: 12:00 Noon GMT | 8:00AM EST | 5:00AM PST | 7:00AM CST | 6:00AM MST | 5:30PM IST | 1:00PM […]

Read More

Focusthread offers Weekday Online Hyperion Essbase Training starting on 02 Sep’13

Get trained from the best instructor known  to have trained novices as experts in this field. Commencement Date: 02 September 2013 Training Duration: 2 Hours each Training Schedule: 18 Days Timings: Monday to Thursday (US) and  Tuesday to Friday (GMT) Course Fee: USD 599 For Course content: Click here For Testimonials: Click here For full […]

Read More

Oracle Database 12c Pluggable Database (PDB) / Multitenant Database : Must Read Document

If you are following Oracle’s 12c database , then I highly recommend you to read White paper “Oracle Multitenant“ to understand PDB (Pluggable Database) & CDB (Container Database)

Read More

Oracle Database 12c 12.1.0.1.0 (Pluggable Database / Container Database) is now available to download

Oracle Database 12c R1 (12.1.0.1) is now available to download from OTN and documentation is available here From installation point of view 12c database is similar to 11g database with exception of Container Database (to support Multi-Tenancy and Virtualisation). More on Multi-Tenancy Architecture in Oracle 12C database (or Support for Virtualisation) here , here , here and later (in my upcoming post […]

Read More
1 3 4 5 6 7 13